Tags

, ,

Success!  The alarm sounded at a suitably ungodly hour of the morning and after many moments spent struggling with my dusky pink, cable knit, knee length moccasins, I finally stumbled into the bathroom and tried to hold my hands steady while scanning the QR code to put an end to that incessant jangling.  The memory is vague but I believe it only took two or three attempts.  After performing the usual ablutions, I wondered what to do with myself and briefly flirted with the idea of going back to bed.  Realising it would be a shame to go to all that trouble for nothing, I decided instead to breakfast on some fruit and some sort of gimicky “skin purifying” tea which doesn’t taste very nice but is full of phytoestrogens which, and this is a priceless discovery, stop you feeling fat and ugly.  They don’t make you any thinner or prettier, they just make you feel as if you are and to my mind that is fifty percent of the battle half won (as a dear friend of mine once wisely said).

Reluctantly, I crawled into my neglected running clothes and set out.  I haven’t done any appreciable exercise since at least October which is presumably why it took me only 20 minutes of flailing my limbs in an uncoordinated fashion until I felt like throwing up.  I’m pretty sure I rediscovered areas of my lungs which hadn’t been used for many months.  I don’t mean to make it sound as if I’m actually learning something on this course I’ve started but I was beginning to think my closing lung volume was about to exceed my functional residual capacity.

It’s a start, at least, and I just need to persist.  Hopefully it won’t take too long to undo the damage done by lounging around on all those lovely holidays.

One of my new responsibilities this year is likely to be providing a bit of childcare for my god-daughter.  When I accepted the honoured title, I didn’t want to be one of those flaky people who, having gone to the trouble of renouncing the devil, ruins it all by forgetting to send presents once or twice a year.  As her parents have no obvious religious leanings, I was not compelled to make any renunciation of the sort, which was a bit of a relief as, not being a particular fan of his works, I didn’t really want to have to say something which falsely implicated me ex post facto in any sort of devilish collusion.   No, I wanted to take it seriously and make some sort of contribution to her life.  Luckily she’s turned out quite nice and I don’t need to make my excuses and move 6,000 miles away just so as to be in with a chance of not being labelled a flaky birthday-forgetter.

I visited with them earlier and am now covered in rusk – a hardship many parents barely seem to notice.  A small price to pay for having a such a piccola tesora in one’s life, no doubt.  Her mother is another one of my biscuit-loving friends, where do I find them?  Having wandered into my life at the very moment a gaping and painful sister-shaped whole in my heart needed filling, she has remained there ever since.

FRPs: Despite spending rather a lot of money today, I won’t be docking any points as it was just an unfortunate result of three regular, budgeted-for expenditures coinciding.

Fitness points: I’ve decided to start being objective about it so I’m going to assign one fitness point for every 100 calories burned (or consumed in excess of my recommended daily allowance).  So, according to my fitness pal app, 20 minutes of jogging entitles me to +1.98 points, or +2 for short.

Total so far:

  • Karma: +2
  • FRP: +22.9
  • Relationships: 0
  • Family: +1
  • Friends: +5
  • Career: +2
  • Fitness: -4
  • General: -6
