Tags

,

This is where I should be this morning…

image
The chapel at Nunhead Cemetery

I don’t mean I should be at the chapel.  I mean I should be out for a run this morning and that Nunhead cemetery is my preferred spot.  It has a handy circuit of footpaths, lapable in 10 minutes (at my pace), and is an incredibly beautiful and peaceful place to get away from it all for half an hour.

If I were at the chapel, I would be pondering exactly which piece of artwork had caused so much offence that it had to be removed. It is a piece by Brian McKenzie, part of something called Unextinction Machine whose blog is here.  Since I am at home instead, I’ve been able to look it up.  Possibly controversial to anyone who thinks in black and white, but to those who see only shades of grey the offense is minimal.  But what do I know, the language of art is unfamiliar to me.

Last year, or maybe even the year before, I had decided to join the Friends of Nunhead Cemetery in their conservation work.  Then I realised it is not very easy to do something on the first Sunday of every month when you work shifts with no discernible pattern.  Sometimes I just want my life back but then I know I’d get bored if I didn’t have some kind of struggle to distract me.

Instead of running, I’ve decided to take it easy this morning.  I’d have to get my diary out to know when it was I last had a few days off work.  The financially responsible approach of working extra shifts has been massively outweighed by the generally insensible consequences to my state of mind.  All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.

Gimme the bat Wendy…

Fitness points for not running: -1

GRPs for giving myself a break: +2

Total so far…

  • Karma: +2
  • FRP: +50.1
  • Relationships: 0
  • Family: +2
  • Friends: +6 [Supplementary PPs: +2]
  • Career: +6
  • Fitness: -10
  • General: +6
