Tags

, ,

In the moment one discards every single leaf of note paper that had been carefully scrawled over for four years, the thought that someday in the future something like your lovingly annotated periodic table might come in useful never crosses the mind.  Unless you are one of those hoarder types, the notes are gleefully tipped into the bin in the happy expectation that you will never need to refer to any of this brain clogging information ever again.  No, life will be a simple breeze of easy yet well-paid jobs, dear darling well-behaved off-spring, and sensible yet consistently inspirational partners.

Until of course you decide to have something like a career in certain disciplines such as medicine, academia or any other job which puts you on a course and makes you sit an exam. But I’m looking forward to it, I might even break out my lucky Wallace and Grommit free-in-a-cereal-box-limited-edition Grommit doll…seeing me through exams since 1999.  I’m not particularly superstitious, despite the jolt that fires through my body every time someone says the Q-word (“quiet”), he just feels nice to hold in my fingers and distracts me from the interminable boredom of waiting for the exam to begin. Or end, if I’m lucky.

I don’t want to be guilty of over confidence, however.  When the words “if I can’t pass an exam where they give me the answers…” marched smugly across my lips quite a few moons ago, I should have known dark times were ahead. Fortunately, I was allowed to re-sit the 10-question, multiple-choice calculations exam again and as a first attempt too.  The least they could do considering the mental health implosion they were causing at the time.

Loyal readers may remember I mentioned something about tax relief on employment related expenses.  Well Her Majesty’s Revenue and Customs has sent me a new tax code.  Over the course of the year, my tax bill will be £200 less. Not blimmin bad. Might even get a rebate on last years expenses too, watch this space…

FRPs courtesy of HMRC: +20

CRPs for TWO self inflicted study days: +4

Karma points for helping with revision: +2

Total so far…

  • Karma: +14
  • FRP: +133.6
  • Relationships: +2
  • Family: +2
  • Friends: +9 [Supplementary PPs: +2]
  • Career: +14
  • Fitness: -15
  • General: +7
