Tags

, , , ,

image

As a work avoidance strategy, this photo represents 3 contemporary distractions:

Distraction the first: It is spring.  The weather is clement beyond all reasonable expectation for the time of year and will remain so until I have completed the tasks keeping me confined.

Distraction the second: My hermitage is surrounded by scaffolding. How can I be expected to work in these conditions? I can’t open the windows, or the curtains come to think of it.

Distraction the third: The windows really need cleaning.  Now is the perfect time, the sunshine, the warmth, that little buzz of energy and optimism you get at this time of year.  But first I must meet some deadlines.  Following which, it may be too late to recapture the buzz.

Other work avoidance strategies employed today:

  • Eating
  • Doing the laundry
  • Washing the dishes
  • Setting myself up on twitter (@urbanscrawler)
  • Accidental internet stalking
  • Writing this

Work avoidance strategies employed yesterday:

  • Setting up a 1 year high interest savings account
  • Finding out about ISAs
  • Watching videos on the internet
  • Going for a run
  • Napping

FRPs for interest accrued on savings by next year: +9

FitnePs for a pretty good run – I could have gone on longer if I didn’t have to come home and avoid doing some work: +3

GRPs for having kept up with the dishes all week: +1

CRPs for all this work avoidance: -3

Total so far…

  • Karma: +16
  • FRP: +162.1
  • Relationships: +2
  • Family: +6
  • Friends: +9 [Supplementary PPs: +2]
  • Career: +14
  • Fitness: -o.5
  • General: +1
Lyric of the week: If I’d have know then I wouldn’t have said it, I wouldn’t have said it if I would have known.
