Tags

, ,

Oooo unlucky…

In a break with tradition which will no doubt be repeated before the year is through, this week’s photo was taken some time previously.

image

This is from a gallery in Napoli, and remains the inspiration for the relatively asymmetrical post card arrangement on my drawing room wall. Anyone who has seen it would find the idea of its asymmetry laughable but it is as far as i can go without causing myself physical pain.

My obsession with symmetry has been my faithful companion since my earliest memories. The comfort I took in the solid good old fashioned square was rivalled only by the quandary I found myself in whenever I was confronted by a shape which resisted labeling, or the indignation that rose within me, upon contemplation of the heavenly firmament, at the refusal of the constellations therein to arrange themselves in a more orderly fashion.

Imagine my horror as I discovered in my teens that my face was not a paragon of perfect symmetry. The only compensation being that whenever a person chanced to remark that my glasses were wonky, I got to reply with precocious self- acceptance “No darling, that’s just my face.”

Eventually, you reach a time in your life when you realise you simply can’t live like this anymore. The mantra I learned from The Scream’s loving creator: “It’s part of the life of the painting” has since changed my life. I embrace imperfection and asymmetry in all their quirky wonder. I don’t need perfectly uncracked CD cases or unbent playing cards or matching sets of cutlery or crockery or pristine books without crumbs of marmited toast twixt the pages.

And I certainly don’t need a regularly arranged collection of postcards on my drawing room wall. In fact, I’d even prefer it if they were a little less regular, but my brain is hardwired against such arrangements and still likes to jolt me with a visceral discomfort in response to such wayward thoughts.

FitnePs for steady increases in run times: +4

GRPs for not being the worst house keeper by far: +1

Total so far…you can have it when these night shifts are over, apologies for any typos, time for work NOW!

  • Karma: +16
  • FRP: +162.1
  • Relationships: +2
  • Family: +8
  • Friends: +10 [Supplementary PPs: +2]
  • Career: +15
  • Fitness: +7
  • General: +4

 

Lyric of the week: I should have known better but I got what I deserved.
