Tags

, , , , , ,

Anyone over a certain age might feel a fond nostalgia for this unnoticed item of litter:

image

Right in the centre, where you can barely see it, lies a discarded casette tape. Has it come to this?

A stark reminder of our own mortality indeed. As is the middle age spread which seems to have suddenly wrapped itself around my waist. How did that happen?!

Meanwhile, if people (most likely a woman, it’s just a numbers game in that place) at work want me to “cover up” they should ask me themselves rather than putting someone else in the difficult position of doing so. For the record, I have no problem with the messenger, she did what she had to do and did it well. The use of a go-between has, however, robbed me of the opportunity to reply. So I’ll do it here in the hope that the anonymous party might one day see it. Make no mistake, if I knew who you were I would say this to your face.

Since I was wearing a maxi dress and, as is my custom, I was not displaying cleavage, I can only assume you take offence at the sight of my back, arms and shoulders. Perhaps, without the containment of a bra, you also chanced upon the little shadows on my dress caused by my nipples reacting to the air conditioning. Might I suggest, rather than either being offended yourself, or worse still, worrying that others might be offended, you take a moment to consider why you find it inappropriate.

I put it to you that you interpret such a display of flesh as just the kind of highly sexualised assault on the senses that it was not intended to be. If you didn’t perceive my body as an object, you would not make this connection. If you saw my body as the physical manifestation of my person, if you knew me, you would see innocent limbs, shadows and clothing, not inappropriate intent or a pollution of your pure environment and the minds within it.

As for my colleague who also managed to offend with nothing but her body and a short summery skirt, they’re called “legs,” nearly everyone has them.

As much as I hate to use the word and believe it can never be reclaimed, obviously the Slutwalk’s message has completely passed you by. The “sluttiness” is in the eye of the beholder, not in the dress or the flesh of those beheld.

In other news, with the arrival of my first official house guest I am creating a new Hospitality Points category (to be known as HosPs) and awarding myself a +1 for having the airbed and some dinner ready.

FamPs for hanging out with some of them: +1

Total so far…

  • Karma: +20
  • FRP: +172.6
  • Relationships: +4
  • Family: +9
  • Friends: +13 [Supplementary PPs: +2]
  • Career: +19
  • Fitness: +14
  • General: +7
  • Hospitality: +1
Lyric of the week: Lips that promise fear the worst.
