Tags

, ,

I have eaten so much junk today, in part courtesy of Baxter. My first (and quite probably only) ever corporate perk in this job. Totally worth it.

But that’s neither here nor there. What I really wanted to talk to you about, loyal readers, is Midsummer’s Day. I’ve spent the best part of three decades doggedly believing that it has to occur on June 21st but if one looks at the evidence I suppose one has to admit that might not be the case. I’m sure my diary wouldn’t lie to me.

According to my clock app, the sun rose at 4.42 a.m. and set at 9.21 p.m. giving an astonishing 16 hours and 39 minutes of day light (right?) Now, I think any day light before 5.30 a.m. is a complete waste, I’m already sick of waking up at stupid a.m. and waiting around a good few hours for getting up time. So, how about we put the clocks forward another hour and have much lighter evenings? That would suit me just fine but is a rather London-centric position. A few years ago I did spend some time in the lake district in June, naively believing I could do a bit of star gazing but, honestly loyal readers, it just did not get that dark! A royal blue inhabited the sky and maybe only darkened slightly between the hours of midnight and 3 a.m. while I happened to be fast a-peepies.

From tomorrow, the days start to get shorter again and I will be briefly consumed by an inexplicable depression, irrationally believing that summer is almost over and we will all soon be submerged in 16 and a half hours of darkness again. Never mind that some of our most clement weather is often post-soltice. Never mind that obviously we are not going to be immediately plunged into a season of cold darkness. No, I’ll just sit here and panic for a while at the drawing in of the nights.

It’ll soon be christmas…

CRPs for accompanying my lamentation at incompetence with an, as it turned out, incompetent yet vehement jab at an essential component of the equipment we were working with today: -1

FRPs for all the food I’ve eaten today: -2

FrienPs for catching up and being around: +1

Total so far…

  • Karma: +19
  • FRP: +145.1
  • Relationships: +4
  • Family: +10
  • Friends: +14 [Supplementary PPs: +2]
  • Career: +16
  • Fitness: +2
  • General: +9
  • Hospitality: +2
LYRIC OF THE WEEK: YOU MADE ME NEVER WANT TO LIE. OF COURSE I HAVE BEFORE.
