Tags

, , , ,

For the last few years I have been fortunate enough to live in a relatively blissfully football-free ecological niche. Apparently there’s some sort of tournament going on? This was brought, rather inconveniently, to my attention last night when I struggled to get doctors to do doctoring between the hours of 8 and 10 pm. It’s a struggle at any time but nigh on impossible when there’s chaps in shorts knocking a ball around.

Predictably, today will be full of bitter recriminations against whichever chap missed a penalty so it is terribly lucky that I’ll be sleeping right through it all. Facebook, Twitter and the news hold no charm for me today.

Speaking of charm, I was ever so pleased to discover that my favourite train announcer is back at Tooting Broadway station. Not only are her announcements helpful and informative, she also has a charismatic style which works such a wonder at perking me up in the morning as I begin my homeward commute.

In other news, RIP George the giant tortoise. I hope your passing isn’t overshadowed by a predictable football result.

[ I’ll tidy this up when I get ready for work, promise…]

Addendum:

I’ve learned a few things today. First, I learned that if my stomach wakes me up I just need to feed it. Trying to ignore it will prove to be an unsuccessful venture. It must have its way. Then I learned that Pie Minister David Cameron has no idea of the existence of a vast swathe of under 25s whose parents (if indeed they even have suitable carers in their life) lack either the means or inclination to accommodate them while they “go out and get a job” and “save up for a deposit.” (*quotations not attributed to DC but rather a representation of the generic comments thrown around by people with too many first world problems.) Why should poor youth be forced to delay adult independence because they can’t afford to live in a world made ridiculously expensive by the likes of people whose financial practices artificially inflate property prices?

Pie Minister DC might hold me up as an example: Look she got a job, she works hard, she pays her rent without benefits, but I’m probably only where I am today following years of cooking the tenancy agreements and hiding from council tax to save some money. So don’t do that DC, it would make you look bad. Wouldn’t it have been lovely to have had an inheritance or parents who shower you with mortgage deposits or invest in property and let you live in it? Well, it’s just money. You can’t eat it.

Do I sound grumpy? Well, ‘im upstairs is back and playing ridiculously loud music.

GRPs for losing two hours sleep to an empty stomach: -2

Total so far…

  • Karma: +20
  • FRP: +133.1
  • Relationships: +4
  • Family: +10
  • Friends: +14 [Supplementary PPs: +2]
  • Career: +11
  • Fitness: +5
  • General: +7
  • Hospitality: +2
LYRIC OF THE WEEK: Loving you isn’t the right thing to do.
