Tags

, , , , , ,

The sun has set the clouds on fire and doesn’t care if it rains…

image

Strange that we should be so nostalgic for cameras incapable of distinguishing clouds from a city ablaze.

This week, all I’ve done is work and eat some miso soup that, on reflection, probably wasn’t vegetarian. A mistake that wouldn’t be so irksome were it not for the cook’s declared contempt for veganism.

Now, I’m not vegan, not by any stretch of the imagination, but I do my best and I have a lot of respect for those who are. What I really can’t understand are the people who need to question, in some cases aggressively, those choices. It’s been a while since that has happened to me and generally I refuse to engage on aggressive terms. I eat what I want, you eat what you want. Everyone is happy. Except for the poor animals and the environment.

Possibly more annoying are the people who when in conversation with me only talk about what I do and don’t eat. Usually with an air of “how do you live?!” about them. I’m other things too, you know.

A few days ago, this little piece of news came to my attention via the rumour mill. NHS cartels? Cutting pay?! Really?!! The confessed motive? “To explore different ways of rewarding and incentivising staff that will lead to better healthcare services.”

Better healthcare services. You heard it, that’s the goal. Fair enough, I’m down with that. However, at the risk of provoking anyone who believes my career choice is a vocation and I should therefore be prepared to do it for nothing but the satisfaction, let me tell you now NHS cartels, if you start cutting pay for healthcare jobs people will just leave. I love my job, I can’t think of anything I would rather do for a living short of mattress testing or beer tasting. But I won’t stand dutifully by while my pay disintegrates into copper shrapnel. Many others, feeling the same way will migrate en mass to other jobs, other careers. And how much better will your healthcare services be then?

I suggest that all those who are offered pay cuts should refuse them. When you are fired and told to reapply for your jobs, go and join an agency. The hospitals will be forced to rely on agency staff, having lost so many people. You will get great rates of pay, the NHS trusts will see the error of their ways when the costs of providing healthcare double or even treble as a result of paying agency rates and fees. Employers will come crawling back to you, you demand substantial pay rise which would still be less than paying for agency cover. Trusts capitulate and see costs reduced slightly. Everyone is a winner.

If you know of anyone facing this problem in the South West, by all means share my solution with them.

FRPs for some bank shifts (although maybe I should consider an agency): +34.7

KarmaPs for probably eating fish stock: -1

Total so far…

  • Karma: +18
  • FRP: +157.8
  • Relationships: +6
  • Family: +10
  • Friends: +14 [Supplementary PPs: +2]
  • Career: +10
  • Fitness: +1
  • General: +2
  • Hospitality: +2
LYRIC OF THE WEEK: I WANNA TAKE YOU HOME, I WANNA GIVE YOU CHILDREN.
