Tags

, , ,

Late again. Sorry…

image

So, in confidence loyal readers, I think I’ve had an awful lot to drink recently. I don’t know what has happened but I have really got a taste for it. I suspect it was all that yummy valpolicella in Venice, followed by several more bottles of red wine for various reasons since my return. Not to mention the frangelico, whisky, ginger beer and ale in varying proportions. This is quite unlike me. Or quite unlike me now. But I have been rather enjoying it so I have decided not to worry. What else is one to do on a rare weekend off but eat, drink and be merry?

Hence the photo. It was taken from Frank’s rooftop bar in the lovely, upwardly mobile area known as Peckham. Now, I know many of you wouldn’t stray into an SE postcode area if your life depended on it but you’re all missing out, you really are. I’m so grateful that soon to be clinical neuroscience nurse @polkadotskirts insisted we go. Thankfully, her neuroscience skills vastly surpass her technical dexterity with a ping pong bat.

In a round up of things which have enraged me this past week we find:

“Journalist” Amy Duncan labels Pixie Lott “disgusting” for having a teeny tiny bit of armpit hair. Saints preserve us, I too am “between waxes,” get me off the streets before I corrupt a girlchild into thinking she can do whatever she wants with her own body hair.

Empty corporate seats at the olympics, some of which BBC R4 managed to blame on spouses who are more excited about going shopping at this point in the games. Seriously?!

GOSH being the only children’s hospital to get a mention in the opening ceremony. As it happens staff at St George’s, King’s College, the Evelina, UCLH, the Brompton and others do a rather spiffing job for London’s kids too.

FRPs for dining out at a price greater than the GDP of a third world nation: -8

CRPs for not even slightly being near finishing this essay: -1

HosPs for putting up the table, let the dinner parties commence: +1

Total so far…

  • Karma: +18
  • FRP: +149.8
  • Relationships: +6
  • Family: +10
  • Friends: +14 [Supplementary PPs: +2]
  • Career: +9
  • Fitness: +1
  • General: +2
  • Hospitality: +3
Lyric of the Week: Trying to walk in my shoes but they don’t belong to you.
