Tags

It turns out, loyal readers, that I may not be such a good listener after all. Following a glowing review of a peer to peer lending web site I’d just “discovered” on the radio, my interlocutor was so kind as to inform me he’d told me about this months ago and had indeed already invested and was seeing modest returns. That’s a negative RelaP if ever there was one.

Realistically, I know I’m not a good listener at all. I make all the right noises, correctly inflected and supported with appropriate body language. But in my head I’m thinking “I’m sure this conversation started off being about me, or something interesting at least. How did they manage to hijack it so quickly?”

Even if you are lucky enough to engage an ear and the associated areas of my temporal lobe, I can’t really promise any proportion of my memory. I’m sadly afflicted with the memory of a much older specimen. I can easily forget a thought while I am in the middle of thinking it. The only things that stick in my brain are, strangely, uselessly, post codes. There can be no earthly need for that kind of knowledge. Why I can’t bend that trait to memorising drug dosages I don’t know.

So…John Humphrys doesn’t seem to have been on the Today program much recently…Have I missed something? I’m not reneging on my commitment, I just happened to very tentatively turn the radio over to R4 and he wasn’t on it. Nor has he been for a while now. Maybe he’s just off on his holidays. Have to wait and see. Long may it continue, that’s all I say.

FitnePs for another, albeit short, run: +2

RelaPs for not listening: -1

CRPs for getting essay feedback and finishing everything with time to spare: +1

Total so far…

  • Karma: +16
  • FRP: +93.8
  • Relationships: +5
  • Family: +9
  • Friends: +15 [Supplementary PPs: +2]
  • Career: +9
  • Fitness: 0
  • General: +1
  • Hospitality: +3
Lyric of the Week: Do it anyway, do it anyway.
