Tags

, , , ,

Having spent a not inconsiderable portion of the year writing about being financially responsible and sensible, I think it was incredibly remiss of me to go on holiday and completely forget that I have the right to claim back sales tax on my purchases as I’m leaving the country. I have deliberately not thought about how many negative FRPs this might constitute.

One can spend a lot of time thinking “oh yes, I should probably do this or that sometime soon” and not get any of it done at all and then before one knows it, it is too late. For instance, I spent a week or two thinking “yes, I should put my camera away in the cupboard, it’s looking untidy sitting there” and then before I knew it, some desperate individual had broken open my window and stolen it along with a laptop and a phone and all my undeveloped works of photographic mastery from Australia.

As helpless a mess as I was upon discovering my misfortune, I’m glad I had been out at work that night and at a funeral that morning. Things are so easily placed into perspective by the sight of a tiny coffin lowered into the cold wet ground.

My experience of asking feminists (no, not all of them, obviously) for information, help and advice was a mixed bag. Some people can find it in themselves to offer suggestions without stooping to patronising or insulting you. Unfortunately, in my experience, this group of people is rather under represented in the white middle class feminist population. Well, you’d better all stick together and carry on snubbing the rest of us while we go about living the values we profess to hold dear.

Having now witnessed first hand the nature of a “good death,” my professional ethical dilemmas are only likely to increase in frequency and severity. I know comparisons may not be successfully drawn between children and older persons but surely some qualities are universal, bridging the boundaries of age, autonomy and capacity? Who knows.

Having just set the wheels in motion for the next stage of my career, I must now prepare myself for about two years of doing a job I’ll likely hate just so that I can move on to something else afterwards. If only there was some sort of blue pill I could take to block all that out and reawaken at a better time of life.

I’m ever so glad the IT genius and (barely monthly) defender of my honour had the foresight to earn himself several brownie points by backing up all my laptop files while I was enjoying my antipodean gallivanting. I may have lost a laptop but at least I still have nearly everything that was on it.

Every now and then, I stop and think to myself: “Wow! I looked through a telescope at the sun!!!” (Don’t try this at home boys and girls, unless you have a solar telescope in which case it’s probably fine.) Sat atop a Sydney hill, in the grounds of the observatory, I took a peak at the most powerful object in our solar system. Awesome in the truest sense of the word.

Coming soon we will learn about my new new years resolutions, and the astronomical highlights of 2013.

  • Karma: +16
  • FRP: -66.4
  • Relationships: +6
  • Family: +9
  • Friends: +16 [Supplementary PPs: +2]
  • Career: +10
  • Fitness: +22
  • General: -3
  • Hospitality: +3
LYRIC OF THE WEEK: You’re the worst thing I’ve been addicted to
